Music Together by Sabrya Hamidi  translated by Tanya Mayne

Watching the video on MusicTogether.com, where families reveal their views on the philosophy of Music Together, you come to realise that music is a means of expression that brings together a very diverse community of people.

There is room for everyone, whether the music arouses feelings of shyness, excitement, daydreaming or a sense of joy.

Above all, we realise that Music Together tries to create a very strong social bond between children and manages to avoid any sense of competition, instead encouraging the importance of teamwork and each child's role within it.

In particular you can really notice how the energy develops between parent and child groupings.

Yes, because, as Robin tells us, Music Together's method is based on the "participatory style of the classes". So what does that mean?

According to Robin, the director, "enjoyment, all together" is the catchphrase.

In other words, it is a place where confidence and learning can develop freely and it really helps intensify the communication between parents and children.

Children integrate by copying and parents gradually grasp that patience is essential to the child's development.

Typically, a Music Together course will start and finish with everyone sitting in a circle. The idea of ​​the circle is very important, as Robin wants to avoid any formality within the class - it is a collective program to develop the senses, so the session begins with singing and using the fingers, then the parent-child groups have free rein to continue as they wish.

What is appealing about the method is that each person is involved - the child, the parents, the teacher - and there's no hierarchy of knowledge or individual, everyone has something important to share, and this results in a mixture of emotions, inspires others and awakens the senses.

Everything is focused on the spontaneity, the nature and abilities of each person. In the circle, there is an ongoing flow of energy.

Sometimes the parents do not want to be involved but decide to stay and watch out of curiosity, and more often than not they are the ones that end up being the most involved during the classes.

There is to a certain extent a therapeutic effect for parents who take part.

We all end up communicating our enthusiasm, the joy is contagious!

More precisely, the Music Together method follows quarterly terms, and includes CDs and books of songs that can be used at home - these materials support the continuity of ongoing learning through repetition.

This also allows the child to bring the fun home and involve others such as grandparents, friends, cousins - which encourages everyone to join the circle of personal fulfilment and interconnection through music!

What parents should know ...

Robin wanted to combine his love of music with his psychology studies. Eight years ago he decided to take on the teaching program Music Together that was developed by Princeton and to initiate it in Geneva.

He emphasises that each course has a principle behind it, and there is academic research that backs the ideas behind these sorts of musical programs, for example the "The Human Body as the primary instrument".

So if you'd like to give it a go, register, and for our lovely Kim & Teo Fan Club members, Robin is offering a discount of between 10 and 20% of the registration fee, which comes to about fifty francs for the first term.

And the bonus is you can register at any time during the year!

Music Together par Sabrya Hamidi

             En visionnant la vidéo de Music together sur MusicTogether.com où les familles dévoilent leur avis sur la philosophie de Music Together on a l'impression que la musique est vécue comme un moyen d'expression qui rassemble une communauté très variée de personnes.
Il y a de la place pour tout le monde, que la musique suscite chez vous timidité, exaltation, rêverie ou qu'elle vous mette en liesse.
Surtout, on devine que c'est un lien social très fort que Music Together tente de créer entre les enfants sans une once de compétition artistique et du reste, c'est davantage la valorisation du groupe et de chaque participant qui est requise.
On perçoit d'autant plus l'énergie développée au sein même de la cellule intime parents-enfants.
Oui car, comme nous le signifie Robin, la méthode de Music Together est basée sur un « mode participatif aux cours ». Qu'est-ce que cela veut dire ?

Selon Robin, le directeur, « prendre du plaisir, tous ensemble » est le mot d'ordre.
Autrement dit, c'est un espace de liberté où il est question de confiance, d'apprentissage et cela aide beaucoup à intensifier les canaux de communications entre parents et enfants.
Les enfants intègrent par mimétisme et les parents saisissent peu à peu que la patience est essentielle à l'épanouissement de l'enfant.

Typiquement, un cours suivant la méthode Music Together est très ritualisé avec l'entrée et la sortie du monde musical en se saluant en cercle. L'idée du cercle est très importante,
Robin ne souhaite pas donner un cours à une classe formellement, c'est un programme collectif où on va développer les sens, on entonne la séance avec une chanson avec les doigts, puis on laisse cours à l'altérité parents-enfants.

Ce qui est enchanteur dans cette manière de faire est que chaque personne est partie prenante, l'enfant, les parents, l'enseignant, aucune hiérarchie des savoirs ni des individus, on a tous quelque chose à amener qui occasionne un mélange d'émotions, inspire les autres, éveille les sens.
Tout est basé sur la spontanéité, le naturel et les capacités de chacun. Dans le cercle, il y a une dimension d'énergie qui circule.
Parfois les parents ne veulent pas se mettre en scène mais décident de rester pour aller plus loin dans leur curiosité et laisser une chance au programme, au final ce sont ceux qui seront le plus démonstratifs pendant les cours.
Il y a même dans une certaine mesure un effet thérapeutique pour les parents.
On finit tous par communiquer notre entrain, la jovialité est contagieuse !

Plus précisément, leur méthode est basée sur un cycle avec des trimestres où l'enseigne procrure des CD et livres de chansons à réutiliser à la maison, ces supports sont là afin de poursuivre l'apprentissage à n'importe quel moment.
Ainsi reprendre le côté ludique dans une sphère plus intimiste avec l'enfant et pourquoi pas grands parents, amis, cousins, démontre qu'on peut tous rejoindre le cercle de l'épanouissement personnel et l'interconnexion bercée par la musique!

Ce que les parents doivent savoir...
Robin souhaitait mêler la musique avec ses études de psychologie. Il décide il y a huit ans de se saisir des didactiques du programme Music Together développé à Princeton et de l'initier à Genève.
Il insiste sur le fait que chaque cours a un sens derrière, que des recherches académiques existent pour développer des programmes types dans des laboratoires, pour exemple le "primary instrument body ».
Alors lorsqu'on est séduit, on peut s'inscrire et pour les charmants membres du fan club Kim et Teo Robin enlèvera entre 10 et 20% du prix des frais d'inscription, soit une cinquantaine de francs pour le premier trimestre.
Il n'y a pas de niveau donc on peut s'inscrire à n'importe quel moment de l'année ! ?